Iran Announces Visa-Free Travel for Indian Citizens and 32 Other Nations
Life & Style

Iran Announces Visa-Free Travel for Indian Citizens and 32 Other Nations

Iran has announced that it was lifting visa requirements for citizens of India as well as 32 other countries — being an addition to several other countries that have recently announced visa-free travel for Indian nationals.

The decision, revealed by Ezzatollah Zarghami, Iran’s Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts after a recent cabinet meeting, is geared towards advancing worldwide tourism and enhancing international relations.

The list of 32 countries granted visa-free travel to Iran includes Russia, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Japan, Brazil, and several others. This announcement follows Iran’s earlier decision to lift visa requirements for citizens of Türkiye, Azerbaijan, Oman, China, Armenia, Lebanon, and Syria.

India, with one of the fastest-growing markets for outbound tourism, continues to expand its list of countries offering visa-free entry to its citizens. Currently, 27 countries extend this privilege to Indian nationals, with recent additions such as Kenya, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, and Sri Lanka.

According to a recent McKinsey analysis, India witnessed a surge in outbound tourism, reaching 13 million tourists in 2022. The Ministry of Tourism reports that the top destinations for Indian citizens include the UAE, the USA, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, and Thailand, with a significant portion constituting diaspora tourists.