India, Australia in Group A of Women’s T20 WC; Scotland Qualify

India, Australia in Group A of Women’s T20 WC; Scotland Qualify

The Women’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in Bangladesh from October 3 to October 20. Group A consists of India, Australia, New Zealand, and Pakistan.

India’s games, which are slated to take place at Sylhet, will begin on October 4 against New Zealand and on October 6 against Pakistan. On October 9, they will face an as-yet-undetermined Qualifier 1 team; on October 13, they will take on six-time champions Australia. Each side will play four group matches, with the top two teams from each group moving on to the semi-finals on October 17 and 18, which will precede the final in Dhaka on October 20.

Across 19 days, a total of 23 matches will be played in Dhaka and Sylhet, with reserve days allocated for both the semi-finals and final if needed. In Group B, hosts Bangladesh are joined by South Africa, England, the West Indies, and Qualifier 2.

Meanwhile, Scotland defeated Ireland in the semi-final of the qualifying tournament hosted at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi to earn their first-ever spot in the Women’s T20 World Cup. Scotland reached the goal by scoring 112 for two after holding Ireland to 110 for nine. Later in the day, the UAE will play Sri Lanka in the second semi-final.