Yamaguchi, Axelsen win Malaysia Open Badminton Singles

Yamaguchi, Axelsen win Malaysia Open Badminton Singles

Akane Yamaguchi of Japan and Viktor Axelsen of Denmark won the Malaysia Open Super 1000 women’s and men’s singles titles, respectively, in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

World no. 1 Yamaguchi defeated World no. 4 An Se Young to clinch the Super Series Premier title. The reigning world champion, who won the season-ending World Tour Finals in December, beat Young in a thriller that lasted for an hour and nine minutes by 12-21, 21-19 and 21-11. She won her maiden Super Series Premier title at the China Open in 2017.

In the men’s singles final, Axelsen, the reigning Olympic and world champion, won the Malaysia Open title in straight games. He trounced Japan’s Kodai Naraoka in 40 minutes. The world no. 1 Dane, with his brilliant attacking spree and defence, won the game 21-6, 15-21. This was his ninth Super Series Premier title and third Malaysia Open crown.

In women’s doubles, Chinese pair Chen Qingchen-Jia Yifan, the world no. 1 pairing in women’s doubles, overcame South Korea’s Baek Hana–Lee Yulim 21-16, 21-10 in 52 minutes. In mixed doubles, the world no. 1 pair of Zheng Siwei–Huang Yaqiong, picked the season’s first Super Series Premier title beating Yuta Watanabe–Arisa Higashino of Japan 21-19, 21-11 in 44 minutes.