India Creates History By Winning Its First-Ever Thomas Cup Title

India Creates History By Winning Its First-Ever Thomas Cup Title

India created history in badminton by winning India’s first-ever Thomas Cup title. The ream secures a 3-0 win after 73 years.

The teammates mobbed Kidambi Srikant seconds after securing the win by beating Jonathan Christie 22-15, 23-21. In addition to Lakshya Sen and Chirag Shetty, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty played two back-to-back gritty performances to help India earn their first title. ​​In the first match of the tie, Sen defeated Anthony Ginting to give India the lead. Chirag and Satwik saved their team four match points in their 8-21, 21-17, 21-16 victory.

To give India a 2-0 lead in the finals, the Indian doubles pair defeated the Indonesian pair of Muhammad Ahsan and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo 18-21, 23-21, and 21-19.

Mr PM Modi congratulated through his Twitter account, “The Indian badminton team has scripted history! The entire nation is elated by India winning the Thomas Cup! Congratulations to our accomplished team and best wishes to them for their future endeavours. This win will motivate so many upcoming sportspersons”.

The team was also awarded Rs 1 crore cash by Sports Minister Anurag Thakur and twitted that it’s an extraordinary feat with successive victories over Malaysia, Denmark and Indonesia.