National Sports Day

National Sports Day

National Sports Day of India marks the birth anniversary of great hockey player Lt. Dhyan Chand. To celebrate his association with domain of sports, every year Indian government honours the players on 29 August, who perform exquisitely in sports.

This year (2016) a large number of nominations were received for the awards. These nominations were considered by the Selection Committees which comprise erstwhile Olympians, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sports Journalists/Experts/Commentators and sports administrators. For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards, Selection Committee was led by Justice S.K. Agarwal, Retired Delhi High Court Judge. Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Ms. M.C. Mary Kom. And for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, Selection Committee was headed by Shri Rajiv Yadav, Secretary (Sports).

This year PV Sindhu (Badminton), Sakshi Malik (Wrestling), Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastics) and Jitu Rai (Shooting) are being felicitated with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratan Award for their praiseworthy performance in Rio Olympics (2016).
Besides, Shri Nagapuri Ramesh (Athletics), Shri Sagar Mal Dhayal (Boxing), Shri Raj Kumar Sharma (Cricket), Shri Bishweshwar Nandi (Gymnastics), Shri S. Pradeep Kumar, (Swimming, Lifetime), and Shri Mahabir Singh, (Wrestling, Lifetime) are conferred with Dronacharya Award.

Further, players who are honored with Arjuna Awards are Shri Rajat Chauhan (Archery), Ms. Lalita Babar (Athletics), Shri Sourav Kothari (Billiards & Snooker), Shri Shiva Thapa (Boxing), Shri Ajinkya Rahane (Cricket), Shri Subrata Paul (Football), and Ms. Rani (Hockey), etc.

Dhyan Chand Award is received by Ms. Satti Geetha, Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung, and Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke for Athletics, Hockey, and Rowing respectively.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is won by Hockey Citizen Group, Dadar Parsee Zorostrian cricket club, Usha School of Athletics, and STAIRS in Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent category. India Infrastructure Finance Corporate Limited has won the award for Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility. In this list, Reserve Bank of India received the award for Employment to Sportspersons and Other Welfare Measures. Also, in Sports for Development category Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society won this prestigious award.