The Boltzmann medal will be awarded to Deepak Dhar and John J. Hopfield
Life & Style

The Boltzmann medal will be awarded to Deepak Dhar and John J. Hopfield

Professor Deepak Dhar who is a physicist and emeritus faculty at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune will be awarded the prestigious Boltzmann Medal for 2022. Along with him, Professor John Hopfield is also selected from Princeton University.

Boltzmann Medals honor outstanding achievements in statistical physics and are awarded once every three years by C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP). The award will be held in Tokyo, Japan which will be presented during the Stathys28 Conference next year in August.

Prof. Dhar has been awarded for his seminal contribution to several areas of statistical physics that include the exact solution of self-organized criticality models, inter-facial growth, universal long-time relaxation in disordered magnetic systems, cluster counting problems, and definition of the spectral dimension of fractals and exact solution in percolation.

An alumnus of the University of Allahabad and IIT Kanpur, his experience in statistical physics and stochastic processes first began with a Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology in 1978.

He had been in IISER Pune since 2016 and currently working on phase transitions and lattice models.