Olympiakos Wins First European Trophy for Greek Club

Olympiakos Wins First European Trophy for Greek Club

Olympiakos made history by winning Greece’s first European club title, defeating Fiorentina 1-0 in the Europa Conference League final. Ayoub El Kaabi scored the game-winning goal in the 116th minute of extra time, prompting wild celebrations in Athens after a tight VAR check confirmed it. Cristiano Ronaldo, Karim Benzema, and Radamel Falcao previously held the knockout record, but El Kaabi, the competition’s top scorer, broke it with 11 goals.

The victory, gained under coach Jose Luis Mendilibar, consigned Fiorentina to their second consecutive Europa Conference League final defeat. “We created chances and had the opportunity to win the cup, but it didn’t happen,” Fiorentina coach Vincenzo Italiano remarked.

Olympiakos supporters rejoiced throughout Athens, with tens of thousands attending viewing parties and lighting fireworks in Piraeus. Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis praised the team as “a true legend” and emphasised the importance of the triumph for Greek football.

Due to concerns about major events across Europe, fights between Fiorentina supporters and riot police temporarily interrupted the game. Despite Fiorentina’s strong start, Olympiakos goalkeeper Pietro Terracciano’s saves and El Kaabi’s goal sealed a historic victory.

Olympiakos players celebrated alongside 15,000 fans, including defender Panagiotis Retsos, who was overjoyed. “It’s the best emotion I’ve felt so far in my career,” he stated.