India Makes it to WTC Final After New Zealand Beats Sri Lanka

India Makes it to WTC Final After New Zealand Beats Sri Lanka

India has qualified for the final of the World Test Championship (WTC), and will clash with Australia for the biggest global honour in the format. The country’s entry to the final was confirmed after New Zealand beat Sri Lanka in a dramatic win by two wickets in Christchurch. The WTC title contest will take place at The Oval in London from June 7.

The WTC final race had gone into March 13, with the results of both Test matches – in Ahmedabad and in Christchurch – equally relevant. If Sri Lanka had beaten New Zealand, it would have stayed in the race – if India didn’t win in Ahmedabad. However, with Kane Williamson scoring an unbeaten 121 and Daryl Mitchell scoring a quick 86-ball 81, New Zealand pulled off a win. The result put Sri Lanka out of the running for the WTC final.

Australia and India are the only teams that have won at least twice as many Tests as they have lost in the current WTC cycle (in Tests which counted towards the WTC). Australia has been outstanding, with a 11-3 win-loss record so far, with series wins against England, West Indies and South Africa (home), and Pakistan (away). The team also drew in Sri Lanka (1-1), with the only series defeat coming in India (assuming a draw or a defeat in Ahmedabad).

India have a 10-5 record in this cycle, with series wins against New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Australia (assuming they win or draw in Ahmedabad) at home, and Bangladesh away. The country drew 2-2 in England, and lost 2-1 in South Africa.