India Scripts History At Tokyo Paralympics

India Scripts History At Tokyo Paralympics

India has created scripted history at the Tokyo Paralympic with winning 19 medals for the country. It was the best-ever tally in a single edition of Paralympic where India won 5 gold medals, 8 silver medals, and 6 bronze medals. India finished inside the top 25 at the Paralympic Games in Japan’s Capital.

Paralympic games are for able-bodied athletes. Total 19 medals for the nation was the best so far at a multi-spot world event which broke its initial mark of 12 medals at the Summer Youth Olympics in 2018. In Rio, Paralympic India had a total of 19 athletes where they won their four medals for the country. With 54 strong units and the para-athletes, India had high hopes for the largest contingent at the Paralympics.

Bhavinaben Patel became the first Indian to win a table tennis medal at the Paralympics to start the list for medals and it ended with two badminton players, who won the medal as Krishna Nagar won gold in men’s single SH6 and Suhas Yathiraj an IAS officer, won silver in the SL4 category. Avani Lekhara won gold and a bronze in shooting along with Singhraj who won silver and bronze in the shooting.

Avani is supposed to be the flag-bearer at the closing ceremony on Sunday at the Tokyo Paralympics.